Night of Awards for Marietta's Polk Street Players

Marietta's St. James' Episcopal Church announced the lineup for the 34th season and handed out awards to theater company members.

It was a big night for at Polk Street Players' June 9 Awards and Appreciation Gala.

The world premiere of the dark comedy by local playwright Raymond Fast was named "Favorite Play" of the 2011-2012 season and its two stars, Matt Calvo and Emily Tyrybon, won "Best Newcomer" awards. 

The additiional winners include:

  • Pat Perera (Best Supporting Actress, "Red Velvet Cake War"),
  • Greg Fitzgerald (Best Supporting Actor, "Kosher Lutherans"),
  • Lorie Dunn (Best Actress, "Coming Apart") and
  • Lane Teilhaber (Best Actor, "Coming Apart"). 

A Special Achievement Award was presented to Rial Ellsworth for his many volunteer services to PSP. 

The Fred Runde Award went to David Campion for his long service to the theater in the production area and to Lane Teilhaber for his many years of acting/directing service to Polk Street.     

At the award gala, founder Michael Campion also announced the lineup for Polk Street's upcoming 34th season, which includes:

  • "Dream Lover" by Jack Sharkey, directed by Pete Borden, Aug. 24-Sept 8;
  • "Winter Glory" by Peter Coke, directed by Michael Campion, Nov. 2-17;
  • "Let's Murder Marsha" by Monk Ferris, directed by Tom Strong, Jan. 25-Feb. 9; and
  • "The Dining Room" by A.R. Gurney, directed by Mary Nimsgern, May 3-18.

The ' "Bonneville Love" opened Friday, May 4, on the Stellar Cellar stage at .

Keep up with all the news you care about by subscribing to our free email newsletterliking us on Facebook and following us on Twitter.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »