Roundtable Finalizes TSPLOST List

The list includes around $984 million for transportation projects in Cobb County.

Metro Atlanta mayors and county commissioners of the 21-member finalized the Thursday.

The $6,140,172,377 in projects across a 10-county metro Atlanta area will go before voters in a referendum next year along with a to fund it.

The list includes $984,089,900 for transportation projects in Cobb County, including $689 million for “ ” Acworth/Kennesaw/Town Center to the MARTA Arts Center Station in Atlanta, $291,899,900 for and $3.19 million to .

Of the revenue collected by the tax, 85 percent, or $6,140,172,377, is to be used on the regional projects identified and agreed upon by the Atlanta Regional Roundtable.

The remaining 15% of the revenue collected will be distributed by the Local Assistance Road Program formula to counties and municipalities. This amount is $1,083,559,831.

Cobb commission chairman said the plan for the $689 million for “enhanced premium transit service” is to use $110 million for an upgraded Acworth-Midtown bus service, the Marietta Daily Journal reports. The remaining $579 million would go toward whatever transit the county’s “Alternative Analysis” transit study due in February 2013 recommends, MDJ says.

Holly Springs Mayor Tim Downing of Cherokee County, Douglasville Mayor Mickey Thompson and Fayetteville Mayor Ken Steele were absent from Thursday's Roundtable vote, MDJ says.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »