Search Results
Marietta City Government
205 Lawrence St NE, Marietta, GA 30060

Established in 1834, the City of Marietta was named for Mary Cobb, the wife of U.S. Sen. Thomas Willis Cobb, theMore namesake of Cobb County. The city boomed with the establishment of the Western and Atlantic Railroad. Similarly, the city experienced several resurgences in the next century with Dobbins Air Force base and key military employers such as Lockheed Martin.

Today, more than 67,000 residents make Marietta their home.

Marietta is governed by a mayor elected citywide and a seven-member council elected by ward. The council hires a cit manager to oversee the day-to-day operations of the city's executive duties.

Steve "Thunder" Tumlin serves as mayor. The council includes: Annette Paige Lewis, Ward 1; Griffin Chalfant, Ward 2; Johnny Sinclair, Ward 3; Irvan Alan Pearlberg, Ward 4; Anthony Coleman, Ward 5; Jim King, Ward 6; and Philip Goldstein, Ward 7.

The current city manager, Bill Bruton, has served in that role since January 2000. Stephanie Guy serves as city clerk.

See more »